|
Feb 2007, the following
email was received by a Musinex user asking £450
for the tuba! Hello I know that I (Musinex) would not answer this email. Be very careful who you give details to! |
|
|
Received 9th October '06 : Please advise users not to respond to the
following; |
|
|
It has been brought to my attention that bogus buyers/ sellers may be trying to 'scam' (Particularly from South Africa ) Musinex clients. Do be careful. Not everyone on the Internet is trustworthy! Should you receive correspondence of a suspect nature from 'abroad' I would advise you to simply delete it. |
|
|
If you would like to tell others of any unsavory
dealings you have the misfortune to have had please email
them to me for posting on this page |
|
A very suspect response
sent in recently (if it looks too good to be true, it
probably is!),
|
|
Watch
out for this one:
|
|
| Hi Neil, Just to let you know I have received a bogus enquiry from Norway using the internet address of tinawell2@yahoo.no After the initial enquiry, which seemed odd anyway you get some story about cheques and friends. I have seen this same scam in direct spam email. . |
|
| Neil, I'm afraid I have just been sent a spookily similar letter to that already posted, please see below: Hello , Thanks for your mail.I reside in Bradford.I am a retired Soldier!I left the UK a week ago to HONG KONG on a business trip with (YUNGPEN COMPANY)and i really dont know when i'll be back precisely.I hope it plays well?I will like to see it for myself because coming over is not a problem at all but i can't due to the fact that i am not in the UK presently.I want the Bundy Oboe to be shipped to USA where i have my musical instruments store.If you can't handle the shipping of that,i will handle it.I will offer 700pds for the Bundy Oboe without shipping cost as long as the Bundy Oboe is ok as you said.If i find any faults in the furture when it is delivered,i will not be happy with you.Also,for the shipping of the Bundy Oboe ,i've contacted my Shipping Agent to get ready to come for the pick-up of the Bundy Oboe at your location as soon as the payment is settled.I just spoke with my Colleague in the UK who will settle your payment.He has a sum of 4,725pds to pay me due to our last discussion before i travelled and he was willing to send me a cheque the amount owed but instead of him sending the cheque to me,i'll instruct him to send it to you to cover your payment and shipping cost.As soon as you receive the cheque you go straight and cash it then deduct the cost of the Bundy Oboe and send the excess funds via Western Union Money Transfer to the shipper agent as that will be used for shipping arrangements of the Bundy Oboe to the USA where i want it to be delivered.Pls if you are satisfied with this let me know and kindly send down your contact address,your full name,and your phone number so i can have my Colleague send you the cheque ASAP.Pls i hope you are a honest person and also tell me if i can count on you to send the balance to the shipper or not.Let me known if you are ok with this.Pls let me hear from you soonest so we can conclude this transaction.Just leave the Bundy Oboe the way it is,my shipper agent will handle the package. Warmest Regards Ted From: ted brooks [tg_brooks@yahoo.com] Seems that this guy is being a rather busy bee!! |
|
anyone think this might be money laundering? Neil. Email received from tg_brooks@yahoo.com 27/02/2005 15:56 Hello ................ Thanks for your mail.I reside in Luton.I am a retired
Soldier!I left the Uk a week ago to West Africa on a business
trip with (NUPENG OIL COMPANY)and i really dont know when
i'll be back.I hope it plays well?I will like to see it
for myself but i can't due to the fact that i am not in
the UK presently i can't.I want the Folding flute/piccolo
stand to be posted to my location in Luton.I will like
you to handle the cost of that.I will offer 50pds for
it plus posting as long as the Folding flute/piccolo stand
is ok as i've seen in the pics.I just spoke with my Colleague
in the Uk who will settle your payment.He has a sum of
3,225pds to pay me due to our last discussion before i
travelled and he was willing to send me a cheque of Warmest Regards |
|
| Dear Neil A man called Jaff offered me the £100 asking price for a Salvation Army trombone, but when payment was discussed wanted "a UK client" to put over £3,000 into my bank account, which I should then return minus the price of the trombone and he would then arrange shipping. This could so easily be another case of money laundering, and what a pity that your excellent service is being abused in this way. The e-mail address was realestates.surveyors@Jb. Regards... |
|
| Dear Neil, I thought you would like to know that your site is not secure as my e mail address was filched from your site and used by lots of advertising companies. No hard feelings! I am going to change my address very soon. Yours... | |
Hi I had a similar scam from a ‘dutch’ man. He wanted to buy my drums for £200 more than I asked which was weird. I was curious so continued going. He asked for my phone number and details which I gave him. He said a client of his owed £3000 and he would give me the money ater including free shipping. By this time I realised it was a con. He called himself John. His e-mail address was john_04lol@yahoo.co.uk Thanks for your help... |
|
MUSINEX
DID NOT SEND ME THIS! WATCH OUT! (Neil @ Musinex) We have detected that your account has been used to send
a huge amount of junk e-mail during this week. We recommend that you follow instructions in the attachment in order to keep your computer safe. Have a nice day, |
|
LATEST
SCAM ? > ----- Original Message ----- |
|
| Be vigilant, fortunately
this person wasn't fooled: Hallo, I have had just the same of email from the above person, who wanted to buy a caravan I had for sale he wanted to send a cheque for £5,000 that was owed to him from a client and I thought it was a bit funny and as i am only a novice I looked into it further and thank god I found your posting, thankyou for taking the time to do this I think it has saved me a lot of trouble... |
|
| Hi, ... I mentioned earlier that someone posing is Smith Cole wanted to buy my tiny cello to send to Africa, but really this was just some front to either launder £2500 or extract that amount from me. Needless to say I did not cooperate, but now after a silence of about six weeks he has started to send death threats. Does this tie in with other customers' experience? I am keen to know if it is one person doing all the mischief. Thanks... |
|